Ga98%China · top shareNb93%Brazil · top shareRu93%South Africa · top shareIr89%South Africa · top shareRh86%South Africa · top shareW81%China · top share80%China · top shareTe76%China · top shareCo75%Democratic Republic of the Congo · top shareIn74%China · top shareV72%China · top sharePt73%South Africa · top shareSi73%China · top shareNi70%Indonesia · top share69%China · top shareMg62%China · top shareAs50%Peru · top share60%China · top shareBe53%United States · top shareBi54%China · top sharePd44%Russia · top shareTa52%Democratic Republic of the Congo · top sharePb48%China · top shareB44%Turkey · top shareSb36%China · top shareMn40%South Africa · top shareCr44%South Africa · top share45%China · top shareRe37%Chile · top shareU42%Kazakhstan · top share36%India · top share35%Guinea · top shareMo37%China · top share36%Australia · top shareLi32%Australia · top shareZn39%China · top shareZr33%Australia · top share35%China · top share31%Canada · top share30%United States · top shareSn25%China · top shareCu26%Chile · top shareAg26%Mexico · top shareAu17%China · top share🇨🇱 CLCutax2024🇨🇩 CDCusurtax2022🇨🇱 CLListrategic resource2023🇨🇳 CNLiexport license2025🇿🇼 ZWLiraw ore ban2022🇦🇷 ARLiexport tax2021🇮🇩 IDNiraw ore ban2020🇵🇭 PHNiroyalty2024🇷🇺 RUNiimport ban2024🇨🇳 CN→🇻🇳 VNREE+4700%re export surge🇮🇩 IDNi-97%export ban effectLi+38%concentration shift🇨🇳 CNREE-25%concentration shift
nickel
Critical · 4 lists

Nickel · Ni

battery_metal · primary

Stainless-steel mainstay turned battery metal. Indonesia's RKEF + HPAL build-out has roughly tripled global mine output since 2018, making it the most concentrated supply story in critical minerals. Class 1 (battery-grade) flows through Canada, Norway, and Finland after Russian sanctions tightened in 2022.

DOE_2023
USGS_2022
USGS_2025
EU_CRMA_2024

38,592 facility records across 142 countries, 497 of them operating. United States leads operating plants with 18% of the 497 operating.

Who's involved, stage by stage

The full value chain as one map - the facilities strata sees at each stage, shaded by how completely we cover it. Strong stages carry a named facility roster (click to expand); partial stages have a country / trade / demand-side proxy; thin stages are the gaps.

  1. Mine
    Strong· 497 facilities

    Operating plants + mines (operators, reserves, grades)

    Lockerby Mine · Munali · Kettara Mines · Garson Mine

    • Lockerby MineCrean Hill Mine
    • MunaliMunali
    • Kettara MinesPyrrhotine De Kettara, Soc D'Exploitation De La
    • Garson MineGarson
    • Sln Nickel MineDoniambo Smelter
    • Gibson MineGlen York And R L Norton
    • Spring RefineryImpala Platinum Ltd.
    • Huntington Alloys Rolling MillSpecial Metals Corporation
    • Copper Cliff North MineClarabelle No. 2 Open Pit
    • MontcalmMontcalm
  2. Concentrate
    Strong· 29 facilities

    Concentrator facilities

  3. Refining / Smelting
    Strong· 170 facilities

    Smelter / refinery facilities, owners + China-share concentration

    AMG Vanadium - Cambridge, Ohio · AMG Vanadium - Zanesville, Ohio · ASPA - Advanced Sludge Processing by Aurubis (hydrometallurgical plant, Beerse) · Althofen ferroalloy plant (Treibach works) - ferrovanadium / ferromolybdenum / FeNiMo line

    • AMG Vanadium - Cambridge, OhioAMG Vanadium LLCferrovanadium (FeV) + ferronickel-molybdenum (FeNiMo) from spent-catalyst recycling
    • AMG Vanadium - Zanesville, OhioAMG Vanadium LLCvanadium (contained, produced as ferrovanadium/FeNiMo) from spent-catalyst recycling; also ~35,000 t/yr spent-catalyst feedstock throughput
    • ASPA - Advanced Sludge Processing by Aurubis (hydrometallurgical plant, Beerse)Aurubis AG (Germany)tin and precious metals recovered from anode sludge (capacity figure not disclosed; recorded as capex)
    • Althofen ferroalloy plant (Treibach works) - ferrovanadium / ferromolybdenum / FeNiMo lineTreibacher Industrie AGferrovanadium (FeV)
    • Ambatovy Minerals S.A. Ambatovy Pressure Acid Leach PlantDynatec Madagascar S.A. (DMSA)operating
    • Angel Nickel RKEFNickel Industries Limitednickel pig iron (NPI), exported
    • Anglo American Platinum Ltd. Rustenburg Base Metals RefinersValterra Platinum Limitedoperating
    • Anglo American Platinum smelting and refining operations (Rustenburg/Waterval and Polokwane smelters, Precious Metals Refinery, Rustenburg Base Metals Refinery)Anglo American plcrefined PGMs (platinum, palladium, rhodium, other PGMs + gold) and nickel
    • Anglo Converter Plant / Anglo (Amplats) Converter Process (ACP), Rustenburg (Waterval site)Valterra Platinum Limitedfurnace matte converted (throughput); also produces sulphuric acid from SO2 abatement
    • Aurubis Beerse (secondary raw material recycling throughput)Aurubis AG (Germany)secondary raw materials recycled (feed throughput; <1% from hardhead)
    • Aurubis Beerse (secondary tin / multimetal recycling smelter)Aurubis AG (Germany)refined tin (M-brand / MC ingots, LME-registered)
    • Aurubis Lunen (sister secondary copper smelter / multimetal recycling site)Aurubis AG (Germany)copper cathodes (refined)
  4. Chemical Processing
    Strong· 236 facilities

    Chemical-processing plants (precursor, separation)

    ACCUREC-Recycling GmbH Krefeld Lithium Battery Recycling / Lithium Recovery Plant · ASPA - Advanced Sludge Processing by Aurubis (hydrometallurgical plant, Beerse) · Althofen Recycling Plant 2 (RC2) - spent-catalyst recycling (V/Ni/Mo recovery) · Ambatovy Minerals S.A. Ambatovy Pressure Acid Leach Plant

    • ACCUREC-Recycling GmbH Krefeld Lithium Battery Recycling / Lithium Recovery PlantACCUREC-Recycling GmbHoperating
    • ASPA - Advanced Sludge Processing by Aurubis (hydrometallurgical plant, Beerse)Aurubis AG (Germany)tin and precious metals recovered from anode sludge (capacity figure not disclosed; recorded as capex)
    • Althofen Recycling Plant 2 (RC2) - spent-catalyst recycling (V/Ni/Mo recovery)Treibacher Industrie AGrecovered metals (nickel + vanadium + molybdenum, combined)
    • Ambatovy Minerals S.A. Ambatovy Pressure Acid Leach PlantDynatec Madagascar S.A. (DMSA)operating
    • American Battery Technology Company Lithium-Ion Battery Recycling FacilityAmerican Battery Technology Companyoperating
    • Anglo American Platinum Ltd. Rustenburg Base Metals RefinersValterra Platinum Limitedoperating
    • Ascend Elements Base 1Ascend Elementsoperating
    • Ascend Elements Novi CAM finishing / cathode sintering siteAscend Elementscathode active material (CAM), NMC cathode material
    • Ascend Elements R&D Center / pilot pCAM facilityAscend Elements, Inc.NMC precursor cathode active material (pCAM)
    • Aurubis Beerse (secondary tin / multimetal recycling smelter)Aurubis AG (Germany)refined tin (M-brand / MC ingots, LME-registered)
    • BASF Shanshan Battery Materials Co., Ltd. Changsha BaseBASF Shanshan Battery Materials Co., Ltd.cathode active materials (CAM), precursor cathode active materials (PCAM)
    • BASF TODA Battery Materials LLC Onoda Site / Onoda PlantBASF TODA Battery Materials LLCNCA cathode material, NCM cathode material
  5. Fabrication / semis
    Strong· 64 facilities

    First-use manufacturing census (see Supply tab)

    Tsingshan Holding (China domestic bases) · Fujian Tsingtuo (Qingtuo) - Fu'an base · TISCO (Taiyuan Iron & Steel) · Baosteel Desheng (Fujian Desheng)

    • Tsingshan Holding (China domestic bases)TsingshanCrude stainless (300/200/400-series); ~10,000 kt group melt
    • Fujian Tsingtuo (Qingtuo) - Fu'an baseTsingshanCrude stainless melt
    • TISCO (Taiyuan Iron & Steel)BaowuCrude stainless melt
    • Baosteel Desheng (Fujian Desheng)BaowuCrude stainless melt; 3,060 kt (2022 AOD filing; roster cites ~9,000, discrepancy flagged)
    • Tsingshan Stainless - IMIP MorowaliTsingshanCrude stainless melt; 3,000 kt filed (range 3,000-4,000)
    • Jindal Stainless (Jajpur + Hisar)Jindal StainlessCrude stainless melt; 2,900 kt (->4,200 w/ Indonesia)
    • Baosteel Stainless (Baoshan + Ningbo Baoxin)BaowuCrude stainless melt
    • Beihai Chengde / Guangxi Beibu Gulf New MaterialChengdeCrude stainless melt
    • Guangdong Guangqing Metal TechnologyTsingshanCrude stainless melt (2,000 kt) + alloy (0.3)
    • POSCO Stainless (Pohang)POSCOCrude stainless melt
    • POSCO-Tsingshan Morowali JVPOSCO + TsingshanCrude stainless melt (planned, Sep-2025)
    • Nippon Steel Stainless (NSSC)Nippon SteelCrude stainless melt
    • Outokumpu TornioOutokumpuCrude stainless melt
    • JISCO (Jiuquan Iron & Steel)JiuquanCrude stainless melt
    • Jiangsu Delong Nickel (China domestic)DelongCrude stainless melt
    • North American Stainless (NAS)AcerinoxCrude stainless melt; 1,000 kt (+200 expansion)
    • Aperam GenkAperamCrude stainless melt
    • Aperam ChateletAperamCrude stainless melt
    • YUSCO (Yieh United Steel)Yieh/E-UnitedCrude stainless melt
    • Walsin Lihwa (stainless)Walsin LihwaCrude stainless melt (long)
    • Acciai Speciali Terni (AST)ArvediCrude stainless melt
    • Outokumpu CalvertOutokumpuCrude stainless melt
    • Aperam TimoteoAperamCrude stainless melt
    • Bahru StainlessWorldwide Stainless (ex-Acerinox)Cold-roll/finishing
    • Zhejiang Yongjin Metal TechnologyYongjinCold-roll/finishing (360 kt CR) + new melt line

    + 39 more

  6. Recycling / secondary
    Strong· 78 facilities

    Secondary-supply plants recovering this commodity from scrap or spent product

    ACCUREC-Recycling GmbH Krefeld Lithium Battery Recycling / Lithium Recovery Plant · AMG Vanadium - Cambridge, Ohio · AMG Vanadium - Zanesville, Ohio · Althofen Recycling Plant 2 (RC2) - spent-catalyst recycling (V/Ni/Mo recovery)

    • ACCUREC-Recycling GmbH Krefeld Lithium Battery Recycling / Lithium Recovery PlantACCUREC-Recycling GmbHoperating
    • AMG Vanadium - Cambridge, OhioAMG Vanadium LLCferrovanadium (FeV) + ferronickel-molybdenum (FeNiMo) from spent-catalyst recycling
    • AMG Vanadium - Zanesville, OhioAMG Vanadium LLCvanadium (contained, produced as ferrovanadium/FeNiMo) from spent-catalyst recycling; also ~35,000 t/yr spent-catalyst feedstock throughput
    • Althofen Recycling Plant 2 (RC2) - spent-catalyst recycling (V/Ni/Mo recovery)Treibacher Industrie AGrecovered metals (nickel + vanadium + molybdenum, combined)
    • American Battery Technology Company Lithium-Ion Battery Recycling FacilityAmerican Battery Technology Companyoperating
    • Ascend Elements Base 1Ascend Elementsoperating
    • BASF Battery Materials Schwarzheide Black Mass PlantBASF Schwarzheide GmbHoperating
  7. Components
    Strong· 289 facilities

    Cathode / anode / cell / magnet plants

    ACC - Automotive Cells Company ACC Nersac Pilot Line / Industrial Excellence Center · Ascend Elements Novi CAM finishing / cathode sintering site · Ascend Elements R&D Center / pilot pCAM facility · Automotive Cells Company ACC Billy-Berclau Douvrin gigafactory

    • ACC - Automotive Cells Company ACC Nersac Pilot Line / Industrial Excellence CenterAutomotive Cells Company (ACC)lithium-ion EV battery cells, prototype EV batteries
    • Ascend Elements Novi CAM finishing / cathode sintering siteAscend Elementscathode active material (CAM), NMC cathode material
    • Ascend Elements R&D Center / pilot pCAM facilityAscend Elements, Inc.NMC precursor cathode active material (pCAM)
    • Automotive Cells Company ACC Billy-Berclau Douvrin gigafactoryACC - Automotive Cells Companylithium-ion battery cells, battery modules
    • BASF Battle Creek cathode active materialBASF Toda America LLCcathode active materials for lithium-ion batteries, NCM cathode materials
    • BASF Battle Creek cathode active materials siteBASFCathode active materials (CAM) for lithium-ion batteries, including NCM, NCA, and LCO products
    • BASF Schwarzheide GmbH Cathode active materials production plant, BASF Schwarzheide siteBASF Battery Materials and Recycling Schwarzheide GmbHHigh-performance cathode active materials (CAM) for lithium-ion batteries / electric vehicles
    • BASF Schwarzheide cathode active materialBASF Schwarzheide GmbHCathode active materials (CAM) for lithium-ion batteries, NCM cathode active materials
    • BASF Shanshan Battery Materials Co., Ltd. Changsha BaseBASF Shanshan Battery Materials Co., Ltd.cathode active materials (CAM), precursor cathode active materials (PCAM)
    • BASF TODA Battery Materials LLC Kitakyushu Site / Kitakyushu PlantBASF TODA Battery Materials LLCNCA cathode active material, NCM cathode active material
    • BASF TODA Battery Materials LLC Onoda Site / Onoda PlantBASF TODA Battery Materials LLCNCA cathode material, NCM cathode material
    • BASF Toda America LLC BASF Toda America cathode active materials facilityBASF Toda America LLCNCM cathode active materials, NCA cathode active materials
  8. Manufacturing
    Partial

    Deployment / demand side only - not a supply census

  9. Final Technology
    Strong

    Top end-use technologies by projected mineral demand · IEA Critical Minerals Dataset (CMO 2025)

    Other uses · Electric vehicles · Other low-carbon power · Grid battery storage

    • Other uses3 Mt · APS 2040
    • Electric vehicles2.5 Mt · APS 2040
    • Other low-carbon power381 kt · APS 2040
    • Grid battery storage238 kt · APS 2040
    • Electrolyzer32 kt · APS 2040
    • Solar PV1 kt · APS 2040
Strong Partial Thin / gap

Both ends connect: the demand-intensity seam (GCAM x strata intensities) maps final-technology demand back to mineral demand - the standing gap is the supply-side middle (components + manufacturing facility censuses).

Stage counts are not mutually exclusive - a facility spanning several stages is counted under each. The Mine count is the operating roster; the Sankey below counts the full components census, so the two can differ by a few facilities.

Value-chain lifecycle (the contract)

The value chain as one uniform contract: every commodity carries the same canonical stages, each flagged covered / partial / gap by the authoritative data strata holds. Copper is the reference fill (ICSG World Copper Factbook); others fill from their own authoritative sources (nickel from the INSG World Nickel Factbook + USGS MCS), gaps surfaced.

  1. ExtractionCovered

    Mine / raw production + reserves

  2. Primary production: Indonesia 42%, China 29% - Asia 76% (2023)

    Indonesia 42%China 29%Japan 4.4%Russia 3.7%Canada 3.3%

    Predominantly Class II (NPI / ferronickel) from Indonesian laterite RKEF; battery-grade Class I sulphate (HPAL) a growing minority.

  3. First use (manufacturing)Partial

    64-plant first-use census: stainless 32, superalloy 18, alloy 10, plating 4 (capacity = stainless melt, not contained Ni)

  4. Stainless steel ~65%, Batteries ~16% of primary nickel use (2023)

    Stainless steel 65%Batteries 16%Alloys, plating & other 19%

    Battery use (~16%) skews to high-nickel cathodes (NMC / NCA; LFP is nickel-free). Sector split = INSG estimate, from projections incl. Benchmark / SMM / Antaike.

  5. ~54% of US apparent consumption recovered from scrap (2024)

    Mostly the nickel content of stainless-steel scrap (US basis; USGS MCS).

Companies & concentration across the value chain

strata midstream-components topology (company official sites, LLM-classified + company annual reports & filings) · IEA Critical Minerals Dataset (CMO 2025)

The whole topology as one flow - each stage sized by how many facilities strata maps there, with the leading companies ranked by captured contained-metal capacity, ending at projected end-use demand. The strip below shows how concentrated the captured capacity is and who controls it.

10%
of captured contained-metal capacity is located in China (by facility location)
2 Mt
captured contained-metal capacity, mapped plants (mine to refining; partial census)
2.7×
captured upstream capacity vs reported refined exports
46%
of component facilities are in China (by location)
Who controls the captured capacity - top ultimate parents by captured contained-metal capacity (all stages, mine to refining)
  • Tsingshan Holding Group Co., Ltd.184 kt
  • Vale S.A.179 kt
  • PT Trimegah Bangun Persada Tbk175 kt
  • Glencore plc132 kt
  • Deng Weiming and Wu Xiaoge115 kt
  • Sumitomo Metal Mining Co., Ltd.110 kt
Location is not control

By ultimate owner, Chinese parents control ~47.9% of mapped nickel mine output (output-weighted) - a different lens from where capacity is physically located (the share above). Chinese control reaches assets outside China: Weda Bay (ID), Morowali (ID), Harita / Obi (ID). Per-asset control + sources are on the Ownership tab (strata ownership-control, curated from public ownership records).

China 48%Other(JV) 18%Western 14%Domestic 10%Russia 10%
Leading firms at each stage (by captured capacity; by facility count where capacity is unknown, e.g. components, recycling)
Mine

70 facilities · 41 firms · 270 kt disclosed

Concentrate

29 facilities · 17 firms

Refinery

87 facilities · 64 firms · 833 kt disclosed

Chemical

236 facilities · 168 firms · 1.6 Mt disclosed

Fabrication

22 facilities · 18 firms · 221 kt disclosed

Final Technology

6 technologies · 6.2 Mt

  • Other uses3 Mt
  • Electric vehicles2.5 Mt
  • Other low-carbon power381 kt
  • Grid battery storage238 kt
  • Electrolyzer32 kt
  • Solar PV995 t
Refining capacity vs demand (does supply keep pace?)
IEA Critical Minerals Dataset (CMO 2025)
  • 2030102%4.6 / 4.5 Mt
  • 203583%4.5 / 5.4 Mt
  • 204073%4.5 / 6.2 Mt

On IEA's own projections, refining capacity covers 102% of demand in 2030 and 73% in 2040. Announced capacity covers projected demand with ~0 Mt to spare (2030), and demand outruns it by ~2 Mt (2040) - any shortfall must be closed by new capacity or secondary (scrap) supply.

Bands are sized by the number of facilities strata maps at each stage; the ribbons trace the canonical value chain, not measured shipments between firms (the customs-observed company shipments below are the only inter-firm evidence, and cover only the reporter countries strata archives). Companies are ranked by captured contained-metal capacity where an official source states it. Captured-capacity totals (including the strip above) sum across stages from mine to refining, so they count the same metal more than once and reflect a partial, public-source census - not a clean single-stage refining figure. Final Technology shows projected mineral demand by end-use (IEA Critical Minerals Dataset (CMO 2025)).

Observed shipments by value-chain stage

midstream · refined & semis

ExporterConsigneeDestinationHS6NetContainedYearSrc
CERRO MATOSO S.A.HG WEALTH (ZHEJIANG) INTERNATIONAL TRADING CO LTDChina7202607.5k t2.2k t2026Src
CERRO MATOSO S.A.XIAMEN SIMING SUPPLY CHAIN MANAGEMENT GROUP CO LTD,China7202604.5k t1.4k t2026Src
CERRO MATOSO S.A.CHINA MINMETALS NONFERROUS METALS CO.,LTD.China7202602.9k t869 t2026Src
CERRO MATOSO S.A.ZHEJIANG PENGYUAN SUPPLY CHAIN MANAGEMENT CO., LTD.China7202602.3k t677 t2026Src
CERRO MATOSO S.A.SINOSTEEL INTERNATIONAL TRADING COMPANY LIMITEDChina7202602.0k t600 t2026Src

Stage-typed customs shipments observed by Colombia DIAN export declaration bases - declared company-to-company records; the product's value-chain stage is typed from its HS code, and no processing role is inferred for the receiving company. Contained tonnes are MODELED (net weight x a representative metal-content coefficient per HS code), not declared at source.

Mines · smelters · refineries

Bridge · 2026-09-14

How each facility's link to this commodity was established.

Each facility sits in exactly one tier. Only the top two feed the country, operator and sample rankings below; the weaker tiers stay mapped but are excluded, so the geography reflects real supply, not how thoroughly a registry was scraped.

  • Corroborated164 · <1%

    two or more independent sources assert this commodity at the site

    6 samples
    • 🇨🇦Lockerby MineOntarioCrean Hill Mine · Falconbridge Nickel Mines, Ltd.
    • 🇿🇲MunaliSouthernMunali · ANGLO AMERICAN CORP OF SOUTH AFRICA LTD
    • 🇲🇦Kettara MinesMarrakechPyrrhotine De Kettara, Soc D'Exploitation De La · Bureau De Recherches Et De Participations Minieres (BRPM)
    • 🇨🇦Garson MineOntarioGarson · International Nickel Co. Of Canada, Ltd. (Inco)
    • 🇳🇨Sln Nickel MineDoniambo Smelter
    • 🇺🇸Huntington Alloys Rolling MillWest VirginiaSpecial Metals Corporation
  • Observed335 · 1%

    a single source records the facility type - a plant, smelter or producing mine

    6 samples
    • 🇺🇸Gibson MineGeorgiaGlen York And R L Norton · Gibson County Coal, LLC
    • 🇿🇦Spring RefineryImpala Platinum Ltd. · Inco Ltd.
    • 🇦🇺Kwinana RefineryWestern AustraliaWestern Mining Corp., Ltd. · Western Mining Corp., Ltd.
    • 🇯🇵Shimura Kako RefineryTokyoShimura Koko Co. Ltd. · Shimura Koko Co. Ltd.
    • 🇦🇺Razorback Tin MineTasmania
    • 🇪🇸Rio Verde
  • The following tiers are held out of the rankings below.
  • Catalogued777 · 2%

    tagged to this commodity, but the facility type is unconfirmed

    6 samples
    • 🇦🇺Sinclair
    • 🇺🇬Kilembe MinesBanff Resources Ltd. · Sarrai Group
    • 🇦🇺Honeymoon Well
    • 🇺🇸Riddle MineOregonHanna Mining Co. · Hanna Mining Co.
    • 🇹🇷Çaldağ mine
    • 🇺🇸Carissa MineWyomingPioneer Carissa Gold Mines, Inc · Pioneer Carissa Gold Mines, Inc
  • Crosswalk29,804 · 77%

    commodity guessed from a NAICS industry code - no source confirms it, so a broad code can mis-tag an unrelated plant

    6 samples
    • 🇺🇸Mex-Tex Group
    • 🇦🇺Blue Bar Mine
    • 🇺🇸San Juan Tunnel
    • 🇺🇸Carlin mine
    • 🇺🇸John W Fittslease BrodieColorado
    • 🇺🇸Paymaster Mine
  • Occurrence7,512 · 19%

    a USGS-MRDS prospect, claim, pit or mining title - a deposit, not a built facility

    6 samples
    • 🇺🇸Gold Quarry Mine AreaNevadaNewmont, the Gold Company · Newmont, the Gold Company
    • 🇺🇸Skillman ClaimMontana
    • 🇺🇸Davis Nickel ProspectColorado
    • 🇺🇸Ruble Claims MineColorado
    • 🇺🇸Boulder River Nickel ProspectMontana
    • 🇺🇸Franklin ProspectIdahoNickelby

Distinct facilities at each value-chain stage, by evidence source.

Census = source-catalogued, geolocated facilities (ICMM / MRDS / MSHA). Midstream = the midstream-components seed (web-verified, downstream detail incl. precursor / cathode / cell). The two are shown apart, never summed - so the trusted census stays clean while the midstream tier fills the downstream the census can't see.

stagecensusmidstream
  • Extraction4,37670
  • Beneficiation12929
  • Smelting9883
  • Refining8487
  • Chemical26236
  • Precursor (pCAM)–13
  • Cathode / anode35156
  • Battery cell–120
  • Recycling178
lessmore
  1. 1🇺🇸91United States
  2. 2🇨🇦70Canada
  3. 3🇦🇺65Australia
  4. 4🇿🇦40South Africa
  5. 5🇷🇺28Russia
  6. 6🇫🇮18Finland
  7. 7🇧🇷15Brazil
  8. 8🇯🇵15Japan
  9. 9🇿🇼15Zimbabwe
  10. 10🇨🇳14China
  1. Michigan12
  2. Missouri10
  3. California5
  4. Georgia5
  5. Nevada5
  6. Ohio5
  7. Montana4
  8. Oregon4
  9. Tennessee4
  10. Texas4

By raw site count in this census, not capacity. For the capacity leaders, see the concentration strip above.

  1. 1Valealias:vale13
  2. 2BHPalias:bhp12
  3. 3Glencorealias:glencore9
  4. 4Outokumpu Oyusgs mrds9
  5. 5Rustenburg Platinum Mines LimitedLEI 3789008292CC7DAD43848
  6. 6International Nickel Co. Of Canada, Ltd. (Inco)usgs mrds5
  7. 7ANGLO AMERICAN CORP OF SOUTH AFRICA LTDCIK 00008019734
  8. 8Impala Platinum Ltd.usgs mrds4
  9. 9KGHM POLSKA MIEDZ S ACIK 00010460434
  10. 10Vale Canada Ltd.naatbatt4

US-listed SEC filers classified in this commodity's processing industries (Primary Smelting & Refining of Nonferrous Metals; Secondary Smelting & Refining of Nonferrous Metals). Industry-level (SEC SIC code), not a precise operator list - the cluster-resolved operators above are that. Source: SEC EDGAR.

US-listed parents only, by site count - reached via FF's alias / lineage walk (≤3 hops, LOW edges excluded). Not capacity, and not the global owners (see the concentration strip). The badge flags how the link was made - a heuristic name match versus a source-stated filing.

  1. 1Rustenburg Platinum Mines Ltd0001597914last filed 2014name-match8
  2. 2ANGLO AMERICAN CORP OF SOUTH AFRICA LTD0000801973last filed 2015name-match4
  3. 3KGHM POLSKA MIEDZ S A0001046043last filed 2009name-match4
  4. 4STILLWATER MINING CO0000931948last filed 2018name-match3
  5. 5EAGLE PICHER TECHNOLOGIES LLCBQ 1000027854010001059576last filed 2005name-match2
  6. 6Grupo Mexico0000007649last filed 2003name-match2
  7. 7JINCHUAN GROUP LTD0001421483last filed 2011name-match2
  8. 8OM GROUP INC0000899723last filed 2017rollup2
  9. 9ACTion Battery Technologies Inc0002049082last filed 2024name-match1
  10. 10Alcoa CorpBQ 1000004598940001675149last filed 2025rollup1

Where the 3,406 first-party facilities for this commodity were sourced. The NAICS-inferred (Crosswalk) candidates shown above are excluded here, so the breakdown reflects curated commodity provenance, not broad industry-code nets.

  • usgs_mrds_facilities_2016-1,752 · 51%

    Source not in strata-web's lookup - see strata for context.

  • anm_sigmine-1,396 · 41%

    Source not in strata-web's lookup - see strata for context.

  • WikidataWikimedia Foundation333 · 10%

    Open structured data - global coverage, variable depth.

  • icmm_global_mining-310 · 9%

    Source not in strata-web's lookup - see strata for context.

  • nrel_naatbatt-83 · 2%

    Source not in strata-web's lookup - see strata for context.

  • MSHAMine Safety and Health Administration10 · 0%

    US mine + operator registry, operating + closed status, employment.

  • EPA FRSUS Environmental Protection Agency7 · 0%

    Facility Registry Service - NAICS-coded US industrial facilities.

  • mn_mrpam_licenses-2 · 0%

    Source not in strata-web's lookup - see strata for context.

All rows passed FF synthesis · cross-source merge + NAICS commodity crosswalk

Counts overlap when a facility is matched across multiple registries - an MRDS-identified mine also tagged by MSHA appears in both rows. The sum can exceed 3,406 first-party facilities.

Where this data comes from

24 sources · titles open the source card · url opens the publisher